skip navigation


Dave Wood Memorial Scholarship

The Dave Wood Memorial Scholarship was established in 2011 by the EGFA board upon hearing of his passing to recognize Dave’s immense contributions to the sport of fastpitch softball in Edina. 

He was a teacher and coach in Edina schools for 33 years and introduced and established fastpitch softball in the school system before it was a sanctioned high school league sport.

This award recognizes a senior from Edina High School who has participated in our association, has also been a member of the school’s softball program, has maintained a 3.0 or higher GPA, and exemplifies the spirit of Coach Wood through excellence both on and off the field.

Previous Recipients

2023 - Olivia Perry

2022 - Maria Teien

2021 - Genevieve Ovsak

2020 - Abby Jones

2019 - Molly McHugh

2018 - Anna Pins

2017 - Molly McGarry

2016 - Chloe Lewis

2015 - Sydney Monsour

2014 - Christine Marquette

2013 - Cassie Clarke

2012 - Maddie Domke

2011 - Olivia Wright

2023 Scholarship - Olivia Perry

2023 David Wood Scholarship Winner Olivia Perry with Laura Helferich, President

Olivia Perry - Olivia has been a member of the Edina Girls Fastpitch Association since age six.  She has been on the EHS Varsity Softball team since 8th grade and will earn her fifth varsity letter and served as a second year team captain this spring.  Olivia plays her clarinet in the EHS Concert Band, and she is a member of the women in STEM Club and 212 Leadership.  This fall, Olivia will attend the University of Tampa, and plans to study Marine Biology.  

Maria Teien - Maria is an Edina Scholar and will attend Colorado School of Mines to major in mechanical engineering.  She has played softball for the Edina High School program since 8th grade, lettering three times and serving as team captain this year.  She is also a Girl Scout and has earned her Silver Award and is working toward Gold.  

Genevieve Ovsak – Genevieve has been a pitcher for the Varsity Edina Softball team since 7th grade and was voted captain as a senior.  She plays the flute in the EHS Band, she is a Peer Tutor, and she is a member of 212 Leadership.  Genevieve has been a pitching coach for local and metro-area softball clinics and has been selected to play on a number of regional and national softball teams. An Edina Scholar with Distinction, Genevieve will pitch for Furman University where she plans to study Biology or Computer Science.

Not only is Genevieve one of the best pitchers to play for Edina High School, she has been a great mentor to many young girls in the Edina Girls Fastpitch Association!

Abby Jones - Abby has been a varsity player and multiple letter winner for a number of years.  In addition to athletics, Abby has enjoyed working with children and volunteering for the Early Learning Center.  Her love and passion for working with youth has pushed her to aspire to one day become a pediatrician.  Abby will be attending the University of Minnesota this coming fall.

Molly McHugh - In softball Molly has been a varsity player for a number of years.  She is a multiple letter winner and made both the All-Conference and All-State team in 2019.  Molly also plays on a club softball team during the off-season.  In addition, Molly is a Varsity basketball player, where she is also a letter-winner and captain.  Molly participates in her church youth group and volunteers with children's ministries.  Molly, an Edina Scholar, will study business in the fall at the Grand Canyon University in Phoenix.

Molly McGarry - Molly has been a four-year varsity player and two-time captain of the EHS softball team.  She also served as a football team manager, and was active in the Latin Club.  This Edina Scholar will continue to play softball at Providence College, where she plans to major in marketing.

Chloe Lewis - Chloe has earned two varsity letters, the Hornet Spirit Award, and has been recognized as best defensive player three years running as a member of the varsity Softball team.  She was a junior varsity captain for the Edina girls' tennis team.  She has also been a member of the "Windigo" staff throughout high school and is currently serving as editor in chief.  In addition, Chloe is a section leader and cello captain on the leadership council for the EHS orchestra. Chloe plans to attend the University of St. Thomas in the fall where she will major in exercise science with a plan to continue in physical therapy.  Congratulations Chloe!