skip navigation

Congratulations to Abby Jones the 2020 David Wood's Memorial Scholarship Recipient!

By PWillette, 05/27/20, 10:30PM CDT


Dave Wood Memorial Scholarship

The Dave Wood Memorial Scholarship was established in 2011 by the EGFA board upon hearing of his passing to recognize Dave’s immense contributions to the sport of fastpitch softball in Edina.  

He was a teacher and coach in Edina schools for 33 years and introduced and established fastpitch softball in the school system before it was a sanctioned high school league sport.

This award recognizes a senior from Edina High School who has participated in our association, has also been a member of the school’s softball program, has maintained a 3.0 or higher GPA, and exemplifies the spirit of Coach Wood through excellence both on and off the field.

This year's recipient is Abby Jones.  Abby has been a varsity player and multiple letter winner for a number of years.  In addition to athletics, Abby has enjoyed working with children and volunteering for the Early Learning Center.  Her love and passion for working with  youth has pushed her to aspire to one day become a pediatrician.  Abby will be attending the University of Minnesota this coming fall.  

On behalf of the board of directors, sponsors, and families of EGFA we congratulate you on your achievements.